Concealed Firearm Permits-New Requirements in Wyoming
Original post August 16, 2016 | Updated August 31, 2016
Clarification update from the Sublette County Sheriff’s Office, August 31, 2016: In 2011 the Wyoming Concealed Firearm Permit State Statute was revised which removed the requirement for Wyoming residents that wanted to carry a concealed firearm in the state from having a valid permit to carry a concealed firearm. Therefore, the permit is optional for residents wanting to carry in Wyoming. A permit is required if you cross into another state that recognizes Wyoming permits. There are currently 35 states that honor Wyoming permits to carry concealed. The complete list and map can be found at the DCI website.
Original post, August 16, 2016:
Applications for a Wyoming Concealed Firearm Permit are now only available online at http://wyomingcdi.wyo.gov. Once in the DCI website, you may click on the link for "Concealed Firearm Permits."
You may choose to print the application and complete it with black or blue ink or type the application online and print it out. All paperwork needs to be submitted to your local Sheriff’s Office. The required paperwork includes: completed application, driver’s license, proof of firearm’s proficiency, and fees. Your fingerprints will be taken when you submit your application to the Sheriff’s Office.
Fees are as follows:
-New application $64 (DCI) + $10 (SO)
-Renewal application before the expiration date $45 (DCI) + $5 (SO)
-Renewal application after the expiration date $55 (DCI) + $5 (SO)
-Duplicate permit application $5
DCI fees will be required in the form of a cashier’s check or money order. S.O. fees will be required as exact cash or a check. We do not accept credit cards.
Questions or concerns may be directed to DCI by email at firstname.lastname@example.org or by calling 307-777-7181. Answers to many questions can be found on the aforementioned website by clicking on "Frequently Asked Questions."