Holiday Boaters reminded of regulations
by Wyoming Game & Fish
May 23, 2009
Memorial Day weekend is typically one of the busiest boating periods of the year in Wyoming, and with that increased activity, the Wyoming Game and Fish Department urges boaters to become familiar with the regulations before heading out on the water.
One of the frequent violations resulting in citations is that boaters fail to comply with the regulation requiring Personal Flotation Devices. (PFDs) Boaters are required by law to have a lifejacket (PFD) for everyone on board their craft. The regulation also requires all children 12-years-old and younger to wear a PFD at all times. The exact wording of the regulation reads: "All watercraft shall carry a U.S. Coast Guard approved wearable personal flotation device of suitable size for each person on board. All U.S. Coast Guard personal flotation devices shall be readily accessible, in good condition and shall not be waterlogged, torn or have straps broken or missing."
Boaters are also reminded that rafts, drift boats and canoes are considered watercraft and also require wearable PFDs for all passengers. In addition, if the boat is 16-feet or longer, a Type 4 throwable flotation device is required. Page 27 of the boating regulations lists the types of PFDs that meet the requirements.
In addition, if any type of watercraft is powered by any type of propulsion other than human, it must be registered and numbered. Craft such as drift boats, and even float tubes, if powered by some type of motor, must be registered.
Watercraft registrations for renewals may be completed at any Game and Fish office. However, new watercraft registrations must be done with an application to the watercraft section at the Cheyenne Headquarters.
Application forms may be obtained from any WGFD regional office or online at http://gf.state.wy.us.
Along with the application, notarized proof of ownership, proof of Wyoming sales tax and license fee is required. Watercraft may be registered for one year for $15 or three years for $40. Watercraft registrations expire Dec. 31 for the period registered. Fees are not transferable if the watercraft is sold.
Watercraft regulations are available at WGFD offices, license agents, on the Game and Fish Web site or by calling the Game and Fish headquarters at (307) 777-4600.