Spring Boating and Angling Reminder
by Wyoming Game & Fish
March 27, 2007
With the recent warm temperatures many Wyoming anglers are getting the itch get on the open water and try their luck. With that, Game and Fish officials are reminding anglers they need to purchase a 2007 fishing license and conservation stamp to be legal.
“We talked to a lot of anglers this past weekend and many of them had not updated to a 2007 license and conservation stamp,” said Jackson Game Warden, Bill Long. In Wyoming, most hunting and fishing licenses are only valid through the current calendar year, meaning new licenses and conservation stamps are required starting January 1st each year.
Game and Fish officials also noted many boaters in violation for not having a Personal Flotation Device (PFD) readily available in their watercraft. Boaters are required by law to have a “life jacket”, or PFD, for everyone on board when they take to the water in Wyoming.
Commission Regulation reads "All watercraft shall carry a U.S. Coast Guard approved wearable personal flotation device of suitable size for each person on board. All U.S. Coast Guard approved personal flotation devices shall be readily accessible, in good condition and shall not be waterlogged, torn, or have straps broken or missing."
“We can’t emphasize enough how important it is to be able to access PFD’s for all of the passengers in your boat,” says Long. “Ironically, in most boat-related drownings, PFD’s are actually present, but not accessible.”
Long reminds floaters that rafts and drift boats are watercraft and also require wearable PFD's for each person on board. In addition, if the boat is 16 feet or longer, a Type IV throwable floatation device is required and a rope throw-bag doesn’t meet the requirements by law.
Boaters are also reminded they need to register their motorized watercraft to be legal when recreating on Wyoming waters. Every watercraft powered by any type of propulsion other than human is required to have a registration number. An additional permit is required for those planning to boat on waters in Grand Teton National Park. Proof of state registration, from any state, is required for any boat with a motor, to acquire the permit for Grand Teton National Park.
Drift boats and canoes alone do not require state registration, but “when a motor of any kind is used, it does require state registration,” said Long. “It used to be any motor five horsepower or greater had to be registered, but now all boats with any kind of motor, including electric, need to be registered.”
Watercraft registrations for renewals only may be completed at any G&F office. New watercraft registrations must be done with an application to the Watercraft Section at the G&F Cheyenne Headquarters. Application forms may be picked up at any G&F regional office and some license vendors.
Applicants are required to provide information with the application, including Proof of Ownership (notarized), Proof of Wyoming Sales Tax, and license fee. Watercraft may be registered for a one-year period or a three-year period. The fees are $15.00 for a one-year registration or $40.00 for a three-year registration. All watercraft registrations expire on December 31st for the period registered. Fees are not transferable or refundable if the watercraft is sold.
Watercraft owners may pick up a copy of the Wyoming Watercraft Regulations at any G&F office or license vendor. Additional information can be found at the G&F website: http://gf.state.wy.us or by calling the Cheyenne G&F Office at: 1-800-842-1934 and ask for the Watercraft Section.