Anglers reminded of regulations
by Wyoming Game & Fish
September 20, 2006
As the leaves turn gold and mornings crisp, thoughts typically turn to hunting for birds and big game. However, many also know that fall offers some the best fishing of the year. As anglers head out to wet a line, Wyoming’s Game and Fish wardens are reminding them to stay legal.
“We’ve run into a couple fisherman with on over limit of fish and just wanted to remind folks to review their regulations booklet,” said Jackson Game Warden Tim Fuchs. The general daily creel limit, which applies to most waters in the area, is six trout, but only three of those can be cutthroat trout. In addition, only one cutthroat trout can exceed 12 inches and only one trout can exceed 20 inches.
Other special fishing regulations apply to specific waters in the region, which are also described in the regulations booklet.
Another common violation is nonresident fishermen buying resident fishing licenses. “Some people don’t realize you need to live in Wyoming a full year prior to buying resident hunting and fishing licenses,” said Fuchs. “Others just want to try and get away with paying the lesser fees.” A resident annual fishing license costs $19.00, compared to a nonresident license, which costs $76.00. A daily nonresident fishing license costs $11.00.
Boaters also are reminded they are required by law to have a “life jacket” or Personal Flotation Device for everyone on board when they take to the water in Wyoming.
Commission Regulation reads: "All watercraft shall carry a U.S. Coast Guard approved wearable personal flotation device of suitable size for each person on board. All U.S. Coast Guard approved personal flotation devices shall be readily accessible, in good condition and shall not be waterlogged, torn, or have straps broken or missing."
“We can’t emphasize enough how important it is to be able to access PFD’s for all of the passengers in your boat, especially this time of year,” says Fuchs. “Ironically, in most boat related drownings PFD’s are actually present, but not accessible.”
Fuchs reminds floaters that rafts and drift boats are watercraft and also require wearable PFD's for each person on board. In addition, if the boat is 16 feet or longer, a Type IV throwable floatation device is required and a rope throw-bag doesn’t meet the requirements by law.
Anglers are encouraged to pick up a copy of the Wyoming Fishing Regulations and Wyoming Watercraft Regulations at any G&F office or license vendor.
Additional information can be found at the G&F website: http://gf.state.wy.us